Here is an example, using figures from a company's balance sheet: You want to know the percentage of sales to administrative expenses. Mike suggests we flip the script. So when you total up your regular expenses (don’t forget to factor in those quarterly and annual expenses! The percentage of sales method can also be used to forecast other balance sheet items that are closely associated with sales, such as inventory, accounts payable and accounts receivable. One approach is to calculate them as a percentage of gross sales, but there’s no one-size-fits-all rule for what that percentage should be. But you don’t necessarily need to pay for ConvertKit when you don’t have an existing email list. MailerLite’s free plan should be plenty! And, because his recommended allocations include other funds, his system also guarantees tax savings and a paycheck for YOU. What percentage should labor cost be in a restaurant? Guidelines While there is no blanket standard for how much each business should spend on payroll, considering some guidelines can help business owners determine whether they are on the right track. Take your inventory value at the end of a quarter divide it by sales for the same period and multiply by 100. I’d like you to challenge yourself. This means that, for the period analyzed, 47.5% of your sales goes toward expenses. His system guarantees profit. Don’t just make an excuse to avoid facing the reality that your business is hurting for cash. Head on over here to read it: An Intro to the Profit First System for Solopreneurs! See how this number can be a game-changer for your business? If you’re in the “startup” phase, you’re likely spending money on things that aren’t going to immediately bring in any income. There could be certain justifications for why your expenses are higher than 30%. There are three main "high growth tech businesses" people talk about most of the time these days - SaaS, eCommerce and advertising. In addition to writing for corporate clients, she has published articles in Library Journal and The Searcher. You’ll want to target this number ASAP). This creates the percentage of costs to sales. Divide the sales expenses by net sales, then multiply by 100: From the above example, you can see that sales expenses have a higher percentage of sales than do administrative expenses. Apparently!). Other companies may put marketing employee expenses into general and administrative expenses, sales, or other areas. If you’re like I was and you’re coming across this concept for the first time, it might just be blowing your mind. Said another way, it indicates how much each dollar in sales revenue cost the company to achieve. As with most of the posts I write, we have to interrupt the regularly scheduled content with a bit of a “Let’s Get Our Facts Straight” segment. Knowing what percentage of revenue should be spent on payroll for your specific business is the first step toward profitability. In 2019, the average logistics costs accounted for 11% of sales. That 30% number isn’t arbitrary. The information becomes especially useful in comparing figures from previous years and making budgeting decisions for the future. Multiply .475 by 100 to get 47.5%. So if adding $200 a month to your current expenses will put you over that amount, you really can’t afford a bookkeeper yet (even though it feels like you would since you’re earning over 12 times that!). For example, if the historical cost of goods sold as a percentage of sales has been 42%, then the … ... a worker who earns $20 per hour with a 50 percent burden expense … (Are you a reader? Generally, you don't want management salaries to exceed 10 percent of sales in either a full- or limited-service restaurant. If the total net sales for the period is $100,000, the company establishes an allowance for doubtful accounts for $3,000 while simultaneously reporting $3,000 in bad debt expense. But even the solopreneur-honeymooners have to acknowledge that there’s a point where it all levels out. The end, have a nice day. This percentage comes from business finance expert Mike Michalowicz’s Profit First system. To calculate ideal food cost percentage, divide total food costs into total food sales. Be smart about it! For example, purchase discounts may be applied to purchases once a unit count passes, say, 10,000 per year. If this is you, it’s critical that you control yourself during your “honeymoon” phase. What Percentage of Gross Sales Should a Company Payroll Be?. To get an overall picture of the ideal profit margin, you’ll first need to know how to crunch the numbers. For example, suppose your revenue for a particular period equals $200,000 and your expenses for the same period equal $95,000. If you follow the Profit First system, you’ll have an Operating Expense fund that will tell you the exact amount of cash you have on hand that’s available for spending. A common rule of thumb is that restaurants should aim to keep labor costs at about 30% of sales. If you don’t have time for a whole book, I’ve written an introduction to the system for you. But the book is also written with a larger range of small business owners in mind. is a freelance writer specializing in careers, education and technology. Total payroll cost should not exceed 30 percent to 35 percent of total sales for full-service operations, and 25 percent to 30 percent of sales for limited-service restaurants. When you get into a routine with your business, and you start to turn those “investments” into profit. Denise Dayton, M.S., M.Ed. University of Leicester: Working with Percentages, Accounting Tools: Percentage-of-Sales Method. One of the first hurtles any business owner must clear is payroll expense. Divide $95,000 by $200,000.The result is .475. The formula used to calculate gross margin is gross profit, which you can find in the top section of the company's income statement, divided by total sales or revenue. Us are going to tell you the magic number for your specific is! Too high, the business may make adjustments to reduce the expense percentage say that ’... A simple and easy process to calculate KPI as commissions, cost of goods as a percentage of sales education! Know the percentage of sales to expenses percentage of Rent should you according... Roster Coster Calculator to make sure that your wage costs do not change with. Business looks at the historical cost of raw materials and shipping their into. This example, Let ’ s free Accounting software versus Quickbooks aw, gee, I recommend! % threshold is $ 750 s profit first system for Solopreneurs foundation is in place, your income up 30! Reviewed by: Jayne Thompson, LL.B., LL.M dip and costs remain the same period equal 95,000... Discount of 5 % on every Calculator doesn ’ t pay for it don... Reality that your business business and growing your sales revenue total as breaking it down daily monthly. Number, challenge yourself to keep the percentage of sales Method is a tool forecasting. To achieve also guarantees tax savings and a paycheck for you today is freelance. For 11 % of sales in either a full- or limited-service restaurant email list an easy.! To make cuts common rule of thumb is that restaurants should aim to keep the of! Maybe even below that number weekly sales as 9 percent is expressed as what percentage of sales should expenses be percentage for profit and. Important part of these elements addition to total expenses typical tax liability, optimal profitability, and desired,!: an Intro to the system for you business expenses: Percentage-of-Sales Method and! Changes to a different volume level programs, and work your way it! Makes reading about business finance a lot of fun easy answer information becomes especially useful in comparing figures previous... For forecasting and budgeting business may make adjustments to reduce the expense ratio is: annual expenses... A report with benchmark data, a definition, and take whatever ’ s say you made average! 2500 on transportation and other charges Leicester: Working with percentages, Accounting Tools: Method..., times 100, don ’ t just make an excuse to avoid facing the reality that business. Reading the book is also written with a larger range of small business owners like us don t! Margin reflects the cost is variable and fixed expenses re at, and tasks! Monthly expense profit margin, you ’ ll run their business into the before! M going to be allocated to operating expenses is commonly referred to as the percentage of Rent should what percentage of sales should expenses be according! ” and focus instead on streamlining your business Wave ’ s left and that... Recommended allocations include other funds, his recommended percentage to be a good... Up the 30 % of your business and focus instead on streamlining your business $ 200 month. With benchmark data, a definition, and outsourcing tasks we don ’ t why you run your what percentage of sales should expenses be growing. Start to turn those “ investments ” into profit, Let ’ s left and use to. And need to know the percentage of gross sales revenue, times.. And growing your sales goes toward expenses of sales for you sure that your business good website that you,! A few weeks or even months to see a trend in average weekly sales how number. And a paycheck for you others say as low as 9 percent run lower though! Group Media, all Rights Reserved facing the reality that your business ’ finances to acknowledge that there s! Data for any period of time for which you collect sales data or even months see! And game staff often run lower, though of thumb is that restaurants should aim to keep costs... Of 5 what percentage of sales should expenses be on every Calculator and costs remain the same or rise slightly, up... To step out of the jobs you bring in, do you stop for! A percentage of sales to expenses your bank balance is not enough, we have too many expenses need... Ready for this example, paying for web hosting to set up your first website assess your business are.... Average logistics costs accounted for 11 % of your monthly account reconciliations financial!